FAQ for Certification


Find answers to frequently asked questions relating to Certification.
The following are localised for the NZ Chapter, however IIBA Global also maintains an excellent certification FAQ list.

What is Certification?

IIBA has created the Certified Business Analysis Professional™ (CBAP®), a designation awarded to candidates who have successfully demonstrated their expertise in this field. This is done by detailing hands-on work experience in business analysis through the CBAP® application process, and passing the IIBA CBAP® examination. To be eligible to apply for CBAP, you must have at least 7,500 hours of hands-on BA experience. The Certification of Competency in Business Analysis™ (CCBA®) is aimed at practitioners with at least 3,750 hours of hands on experience. Both certifications are aligned with the knowledge areas defined in the BABOK® Guide.

Why take the CBAP/CCBA exam?

CBAP or CCBA certification is a public affirmation of your current level of professionalism, and your continued commitment to the BA profession.If you are working in the role of business analysis, systems analysis, requirements analysis or management, project management, consulting or process improvement, and have an advanced level of knowledge and experience, you will want to consider the many professional benefits of earning the CBAP® / CCBA designation. It demonstrates:

  • Your knowledge of the skills necessary to be an effective Business Analyst.
  • A proven level of competence in the principles and practices of business analysis.

How much will taking the CBAP/CCBA exam cost?

The exam costs $325 US for IIBA members, and $450 for non-members. Registration costs $125 US.

Read more about certification and the exam process.

Who runs the CBAP/CCBA exams?

Exam applications are managed centrally by our parent body IIBA. Exams in New Zealand are conducted as online exams (CBT) administered by Prometric, IIBA's testing partner. Test dates and locations are agreed with Prometric.

How do I Get Certified?

  1. Read the CBAP or CCBA Certification Handbook.
  2. Apply and Pay for Certification (USD$125).
  3. Pay for the Exam (USD$325/$450).
  4. Register for the Exam.
  5. Prepare for the Exam (maybe join a CBAP Accelerator Group).
  6. Take the Exam.

How does the CBAP exam differ from that for the CCBA?

Yes, the exams are different. The blueprints for both are in the individual Handbooks.  Here are the links: CCBA® Handbook  or the CBAP® Handbook.  The CCBA exam is primarily knowledge-based, whereas the CBAP exam relies more on analytical questions.

Is there a guide to show me how to complete my CBAP/CCBA application?

There is a set of short videos that take you through each step of the process here. The other key part of your application is to collate your experience hours (see following topic for more details).

Is there a template to collate my experience hours for Certification?

You can use these templates as a guide to setting up your work experience records. Three examples:

  1. Here is also an example from Watermark Learning.
  2. And another example from the BA Coach.
  3. Here is another example. Open the file and then choose file > download to view in Excel.

Exam Costs

If I don’t live in Auckland, can I claim costs for flights to the exam centre?

A reimbursement policy exists where eligible candidates can claim the cost of their return airfare to Auckland to sit their CBAP/CCBA exam. This is because the exam is currently only available in Auckland.

The reimbursement is available to those residing in the Wellington Region or South Island. Applicants can claim reimbursement for their return flight cost to Auckland, up to a limit of $250.

We request that you first attempt to get your employer to pay. Our reimbursement is a fallback should your employer be unwilling to pay. We need to see the evidence (say an email from employer) that your employer has declined to pick up the flight and transfer costs.

As well as living in a location where you would not normally travel to Auckland to sit the exam (e.g. Wellington, South Island), you will need to:

  1. Be an IIBA member;
  2. Pass the exam;
  3. Provide receipts;
  4. Provide evidence that employer wouldn't cover costs (e.g. email);
  5. Then, once you pass your exam and you submit this information, then IIBA will reimburse to you these costs by cheque.

Register your interest by emailing certification@newzealand.iiba.org.


How will BABOK version 3 affect my study plan for Certification?

The exam is currently based on v3.0 of the BABOK Guide

Any updates will be posted on the iiba.org website as well as in our newsletter..